You are here: Home / The 4 Countries

Participating Countries

The process of establishing a cooperative and collaborative approach to the sustainable development and management of the natural resources of Lake Tanganyika and its Basin by the four Lake Tanganyika riparian countries of Burundi, D.R. Congo, Tanzania and Zambia started in the early 1990s. The four countries working in collaboration with supporting partners have now established the Lake Tanganyika Authority (LTA) responsible for overseeing the implementation of a regional integrated management programme based on the provisions of the Convention on Sustainable Management of Lake Tanganyika which was signed on 12th June, 2003 by the four Lake Tanganyika riparian governments in Dar Es Salaam, United Republic of Tanzania. The Convention provided the framework for the establishment of the LTA.
Burundi Tanzania Zambia DR Congo

Lake Google Map

Go to Larger Map


Click on any country above on the map or flag / name below to get more information


Document Actions